HELP! Teacher hatching eggs, don't want to disappoint my kiddos!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by mandapanda, Apr 30, 2011.

1. mandapanda

mandapanda New Egg

Apr 30, 2011
    I'm a kindergarten teacher who is new to this egg hatching thing. Our science resource center sent 28 eggs to me in an icubator that has a thermostat but nothing to display humidity levels. I placed the eggs in the incubator on their sides on this past Monday. The eggs have been kept at 100 degrees and turned 3 times daily. My problem is that I smell a slight odor when I open the incubator. Today I used my hubby's maglite to try to candle the eggs to see if I could find a rotten one. I don't really see anything but yolk (which looks bigger than a normal yolk) I am not seeing veins or a black spot of any sort. There is a definite air sac in many of them. A few of the tiny eggs look as if they have a larger air sac than the others. Many of them look pock marked and a few look cracked. I don't want an exploded egg, but I don't want to kill a baby chick either!!! Some eggs are dark, some light brown, and some green. The light brown and green eggs are small. Any advice on what I should be looking for? Am I just missing the veins, is it too early to give up one them?? Sorry about the rambling, PLEASE HELP ME! I have no idea what to do. [​IMG]

2. 1muttsfan

1muttsfan Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Upper Peninsula Michigan
    Best way to find a bad egg is to sniff each one - sorry [​IMG]

3. mandapanda

mandapanda New Egg

Apr 30, 2011
    Quote:I can't really smell anything with each individual egg, just a general "odor" when I open the incubator. Maybe it's just leftover stink from the last person who used this thing! Can you give any advice on the candling process?

4. jcfuente51

jcfuente51 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 18, 2011