Help think my hen is sick

Alisha Gallagher

In the Brooder
Sep 12, 2018
Hi I am new to this page as well as a new chicken onwer for about 8 months now, one of my hens for 5 days now has A droopy tail she's losing weight she's not eating very much or drinking very much she barely walks around her back is huntched, her poop is watery green she hasn't laid in a week, I thought maybe she was egg bound she's pretty hard by her vent area, so I've been giving her baths it doesn't seem to be helping, any advice would
Be great.

Attachments

• F0F83F38-1024-4D94-91BA-4048154CB580.jpeg
    F0F83F38-1024-4D94-91BA-4048154CB580.jpeg
    326.9 KB · Views: 11
  • 63979E53-E291-4366-A511-0F2CF9D92CE9.jpeg
    63979E53-E291-4366-A511-0F2CF9D92CE9.jpeg
    700 KB · Views: 10
When she first started acting under the weather what did poop look like? Wast it watery diarrhea? Hopefully someone more knowledgeable will be on soon to help you out.

I am learning it can be many things but may need to treat for dehydration first then manually feed her with dropper or syringe, worse comes to worse you may have to tube feed. Chickens loose weight drastically fast and kills them equally fast. So that would be what I would try. Also glove up add some KY or Vaseline to a finger and insert into her vent to see if she has a stuck egg but with her pooping I doubt that is what is going on.

When she first started acting under the weather what did poop look like? Wast it watery diarrhea? Hopefully someone more knowledgeable will be on soon to help you out.

I am learning it can be many things but may need to treat for dehydration first then manually feed her with dropper or syringe, worse comes to worse you may have to tube feed. Chickens loose weight drastically fast and kills them equally fast. So that would be what I would try. Also glove up add some KY or Vaseline to a finger and insert into her vent to see if she has a stuck egg but with her pooping I doubt that is what is going on.