Help! Unstable coop!

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by operationminifarm, Jun 11, 2011.

1. operationminifarm

operationminifarm New Egg

Jun 11, 2011
    Well I drew up a plan and have gotten to work on my coop. hours in and hundreds of dollars spent and I am worried. I have never built a shed/building before. My biggest project being a compost bin. Here is my problem. I have the posts down, and some support up, but it feels very unsteady and wobbly. It doesn't take a lot of force to make it creak and shift. I am hoping that all it will need is just to keep working, and as everything else gets put in it (floor, walls, rafters, roof) it will help stabilize it. But I am a worrier. What are other peoples experiences and is there anything I can do to salvage this project if there is a problem.

The total dimensions are 4'X16' with the coop portion being 4'X6'

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

This is a view of a 4x4 post attached to the frame made of treated wood 2x4's.

[​IMG]

Any Help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

-Daniel

2. WhySayWhat

WhySayWhat Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 5, 2010
    Spokane
    I would think it will feel much more stable when you get the major suports going the "other" direction up. Right now you have two independant walls started with nothing more than a 2x4 near the middle holding them together. Once it's more "cube" shaped, it should feel more solid. Great work so far though!

3. TrystInn

TrystInn Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 16, 2009
    Southern Arizona
    Not a carpenter, but to me it looks like you need to finish bracing the top. If you still have issues with sway, try a few additional horizontal supports. Once you get whatever you are using for the sides/walls, it will help strengthen the design, too.

4. stoneeater

stoneeater Out Of The Brooder

Mar 9, 2011
    Jacksonville, Fl.
    I'm not seeing anything wrong with your construction.