HELP! WHAT'S WRONG WITH THIS BEAK? Bird having hard time eating

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by BoyetteK9, Apr 24, 2011.

1. BoyetteK9

BoyetteK9 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 1, 2011
    Clermont County, Ohio
    She's having a tough time picking anything up to eat. Bottom beak appears too long (since top beak is so curved).
    What can I do to correct this? This is my first time with chickens. Hen 7 weeks old.
    Do I file the bottom beak? If so, with what? Her beak always hangs open.

I wanted to confer with y'all because I don't want to make the situation worse.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 24, 2011
  2. Miyashi

Miyashi Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 20, 2011
    Gaylord, MI
    From what I understand, you can file it with a dremel tool if she will let you. A nail file is a bit time consuming, but it works. I trim my roosters beak with one in the winter months as he is in the house most of the winter with not much to peck at.
    Good luck to you and your bird![​IMG]

3. bambi

bambi Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 7, 2010
    Mo.
    Try a deep dish so it can scoop with its beak. Ath the top right side of the page put in cross beak in the search box and you will find all kinds of helpful tips on what to feed and how. God's blessing to you and your chicken:)

4. Little Ameraucana Mom

Little Ameraucana Mom Need Help, Can't stop hatching!!!

Jul 8, 2008
    Greencastle, In
    I would use toenail clippers and cut off the top and bottom tip. Be careful you don't cut to deep.

Last edited: Apr 24, 2011
  5. Miyashi

Apr 20, 2011
    Gaylord, MI
    Quote:I've been meaning to do this with my cross beaked chick as well...I just am unsure of how to tell when you've clipped far enough? Is there a vein like on their nails that you can clearly see?

6. Little Ameraucana Mom

Jul 8, 2008
    Greencastle, In