Help! Will collecting eggs daily cause lack of my wanted broodiness?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by pickinchicken, Jan 5, 2014.

1. pickinchicken

pickinchicken Out Of The Brooder

Jan 5, 2014
    Missouri
    I have been collecting the eggs from my 2 Cochins and 3 red sex links. ( there are also one barred rock rooster and 4 Guineas in the coop.) this is my first year with chickens and I get 3 eggs a day. I was wondering if by collecting the eggs daily I am going to cause a lack of broodiness? I would like to try for hatching some chicks naturally this spring but I wasn't sure if a hen will become broody. Do I just leave the eggs when I'm ready for this to happen and maybe it will spark interest in one to become broody? Should I start leaving eggs now once in awhile or is it ok to take all eggs daily? I'd like to try for hatching late spring. Thanks so much for any help!

2. ChickenLegs13

ChickenLegs13 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 4, 2013
    Lower Alabama
    "They say" that leaving eggs piled up in the nest will make hens go broody, but I've had hens that never went broody and had others that went broody on an empty nest.
    If you're getting 3 eggs per day you can let them pile up in the nest for several days until you get a clutch of a dozen or so eggs to "spark interest." Use a Sharpie or a pencil to identify the eggs as they are laid each day so you can rotate the older ones out to eat and keep the fresher ones in the nest in case a hen goes broody. It's best not to accumulate them for more than 10 days because both the edibility & hatchability decreases after that, but I have eaten & hatched eggs that were in the nest for up to 3 weeks.
    Hope that helps.

3. pickinchicken

pickinchicken Out Of The Brooder

Jan 5, 2014
    Missouri