Help with a broody - her eggs got eaten !

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Dun an Oir Hens, Aug 18, 2011.

1. Dun an Oir Hens

Dun an Oir Hens Out Of The Brooder

Apr 28, 2011
    Rockland, Massachusetts
    I'm new to chickens so learning as we go - unfortunately my broody is paying the price.

She is a large cochin and a determined mother - in March she went broody - purchased a dozen fertile eggs (we can't have roosters in our town) and after day 25 it was obvious she was unsuccessful. Luckily for us our school hatched chicks and we were able to bring home 3 - she adopted them that evening and was an awesome mother !

Here we are again - 2 weeks on golf balls (bright pink and yellow) and any egg she can get her bottom on. So I search craigslist for fertile eggs - no luck. I went to purchase 3 chicks (chicken math) and in telling the farmer our sad story he takes pity on our broody and gives me 2 turkey eggs - he didn't have any chicken eggs.

I put the 2 turkey eggs under her that night and left her 1 golf ball as well. The next night I put the chickens to bed and decide to check on our broody - 1 turkey egg gone ! I wait for her next morning - she gets off her nest and eats, drinks and poops. Immediately hops back on her nest. I check on her at 1.00pm - the other turkey egg is gone - no shell, no wet spot under her - nothing!

I call a friend and he suggests squirrels or egg eating and tells me to blow out 2 eggs, fill with mustand and put them into the nest boxes.
    Next morning I see our favorite hen checking out these new eggs and as soon as I turn my back - one is eaten. I go to fill their water bucket and when I come back some hen has taken the other mustard egg out of the nest box and rolled it down the ramp so all the chickens are feeding on shell and spilled mustard. It didn't deter them any - they seemed to enjoy it.