Help with amputation!!!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by [email protected]@2four, Jun 20, 2010.

1. M@M@2four

[email protected]@2four Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2008
    USA
    Hey all!!! I have a started silkie chick(given to me by a friend) who was born with a bad leg(to the side) and is now turning almost backwards. It wasn't spraddle leg, since I have lots of experience in fixing that, but more of just a deformity. He/she is such a fighter and still very hearty, so I wanted to give it a shot before culling it. Any help, advice, "how to" would be greatly appreciated!!! I did a search on here and saw Ruth had something very similar, but I tried PMing her, but her inbox is full and e-mail is private! So, ANYONE with ANY experience, HELP!!! Thanks SO much!!!

2. dieselgrl48

dieselgrl48 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 21, 2010
    Virginia
    Wow I don't have a clue.I have had bird's with curled feet in older age but nothing like what you are talking about.I Have have 2 duck's with broken leg's and one lost a foot to turtle once and they all did fine.The lost duck foot we had taped and kept her down a few week but the damage was so bad it just fell off.We had gave her penicillin and kept the foot and leg clean and after a month or so she blew the whole tape off her nubb and she could run faster than the other ducks.I hope someone here can help with your silkie I have never had a major leg problem like that with a chicken Yet. Good Luck.

3. M@M@2four

Mar 12, 2008
    USA
    Thanks! I'm really hoping to get some more info! I have no problem with culling, but this little guy is really doing well otherwise--it's almost like his gimpy leg is just in the way! [​IMG]

4. M@M@2four

Mar 12, 2008
    USA
    Please, can anyone offer how to do this? I'm just not sure where to make the cut and exactly what to do!!! Please, anyone???? [​IMG]

5. MotherJean

MotherJean Chillin' With My Peeps