Help with candling?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Tricorn, Nov 5, 2011.

1. Tricorn

Tricorn Out Of The Brooder

Oct 15, 2011
    It's my first time incubating eggs. I know naught.

It's day 18 and I have 7 eggs in the incubator. 2 green, 4 black, 1 white. I only have a crappy dim flashlight to try and candle with (dropped the good one) so I don't know what I'm supposed to see/if I could see anything at all.

Egg 1 is white, all that can be seen is a slightly darker/more defined yolk, looks like an unincubated egg, but darker. I'm assuming dud?

Eggs 2 and 3 are green, and look the same. When candling from the bottom and viewed on top they both are completely dark with a 4/5 mm air cell at the top. When lit from the bottom and viewed from the side, the top half of the egg is dark and the bottom light. (Stark contrast)

The other eggs (4-7) are near impossible to see through... One i think is a dud, the others have dark shapes that fill about 2/3 of the visible space when viewed from the top. (Air cells the same as the green)

Sooo.... Experts? I'm mostly wondering about eggs 2/3. I can only find pictures taken with a good light and from the top so don't know what I'm looking at. It just feels like at day 18 they should all be completely dark throughout.

ETA:

Alright! for those who find this post and are curious- All eggs were duds! Cracked them open and nothin' but yolk. Found the white spot thingy one some of them and there was no bullseye what-so-ever. The two green eggs looked different because they were starting to go bad by day 18. None of the others were bad, just not fertile. Do younger hens produce a better bloom? Or it could just be luck/unluck.

So, can you have 100% unfertile eggs with a ratio of 1 roo to 2-3 hens? Apparently yes!

Last edited: Nov 10, 2011
  2. Sphinx

Sphinx Chillin' With My Peeps

May 10, 2010
    Utah