Help with coop construction

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Kataloo, Feb 20, 2014.

1. Kataloo

Kataloo Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 4, 2014
    Utah
    Hi all chicken lovers and especially coop builders-

Disclaimer: I am not experienced at carpentry, although I do enjoy it. This will be, by far, my most ambitious project. I am going to take it slow and do it in steps and I know I can do it; however, I don't know the correct terminology, so I hope you can understand what I am trying to ask: [​IMG]

1) When building the coop/run should I sink the four corner posts 2 or 3 feet below grade so that the coop will be stable in high winds, or do I not have to worry about that? Looking at the construction pictures posted online it seems that most people don't.

2) I am trying to build a budget coop, while having it be strong, predator proof, and attractive. I want to have 3-4 chickens. I have chosen a 4x12 coop/run because that seems like it would be the most economical having little waste due to the fact that plywood and siding comes in 4x8 panels. Any tips to save money?

3) Is a foundation of cinder blocks and pavers a good idea? Why or why not?

4) If I do build a foundation of pavers and cinderblocks, do I attach the base of the coop to the foundation of pavers? Or just set it on top? If I attach it, I assume this would be done with cement nails.

Thanks so VERY much. [​IMG]

P.S. This may or may not be helpful information: I haven't decided to sink the hardware cloth or construct an apron. I assume the price would be about the same for either.

Last edited: Feb 20, 2014
  2. jetdog

jetdog Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 18, 2013
    Massachusetts
    [​IMG]