Help with duck house ( Newbie)

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by mvinotime, Jan 2, 2015.

1. mvinotime

mvinotime Out Of The Brooder

Sep 26, 2011
    Hello. I am new to ducks. Getting four Pekins this weekend about age 2 mos. :) Hubby and I built a duck house to lock them in at night that is 4x6 in size. They also have a 50x50 enclosed yard for daytime. My questions are many lol but to start, do you normally keep food and water IN the duck house where they sleep at night? It will be open during the day and locked at night but I have read they can be very messy and didn't want my straw bedding to turn to mush in there. Any tips on best place to keep food and water for them? Thanks so much.

2. cityfarmer12

cityfarmer12 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 18, 2014
    Missouri
    yes, they are super messy, lol :) I keep my water and food outside when they are out all day, but if i have a day where i can't let them out, i put it in the shed. Also, if you are keeping their water outside, also feed them outside and withhold it at night...they need water to wash down anything they eat. good luck! Pekins are really fun ducks!

3. needlessjunk

needlessjunk Chillin' With My Peeps

May 19, 2014
    Round Rock, TX
    At that age I would not put food or water in the house unless they cannot come out due to weather. It is not worth the mess to me to keep it in the house especially when it is a smaller coop.

4. mvinotime

mvinotime Out Of The Brooder

Sep 26, 2011