Help with hatching eggs day 21 and peeped on side of egg

candybeers2011

Chirping
Nov 3, 2022
I have 5 silkie eggs and 4 of them made their first peeps on day 20, but not where I marked the airsac. One is on the side of the egg and one is om the narrow end of the egg. I can hear chirping and it's been about 12 hours since one of them first peeped their egg on the narrow end of the egg but no more progress I can see and one of them peeped through on the side of the egg and I think that's the one chirping and it's been about 9 hours since that one made its first peep on its egg. Do I need to help these chicks get out or should I wait longer? All of them had saddled airsacs and I they were shipped to me.

Thank you for your quick reply and advice. It's my first time incubating chicken eggs so I'm very nervous. One of the eggs I can actually see the chick trying to peck more from the hole it's already made on the long side of the egg and its chirping off and on. This one first peeped around 8 hours ago so I guess its doing okay even though it's not peeped where I marked the airsac. Since I can see the chick moving parts of the cracked shell dies that mean it can breath even though it failed to peep at the airsac? I know it's early in the hatching process but I'm so worried that it didn't peep in the airsac and worried it could suffocate. I guess since it's pushed through a good hole and I can see and it pushing at the cracked area that it can breath ok? I'll try to take some pics but my incubator is kinda difficult to see through clearly and I'm afraid to open the incubator since I've read so much about thar being bad to do. Oh this is nerve wracking.