Help with hatching!

chicken4prez

Free Ranging
6 Years
Jun 14, 2015
Ontario, Canada
One of my eggs is at Day 15 and I've been reading up on hatching but they're all with incubators and not broody hens. I've seen slangs like "pipping" and "zipping" and more. What do these mean? When my egg hits day 19 or so should I bring up a broody and the egg and keep an eye on it?

I'm totally new with hatching and I just want a sample of what to do and expect.

An internal pip is when the chick breaks into the air cell to breathe. It usually happens between Days 18-21. You will know if there is an internal pip if you hear the chick peeping, or if you candle and see a beak in the air cell. After an internal pip, it could be hours or days before the chick finally hatches.

An external pip comes after the internal. The chick breaks the shell - if it's a good pip it will be up by the air cell. It usually looks like a little bump. It might be hard to see. The chick could hatch a few hours or over a day after an external pip. They have to soak up the rest of that yolk and blood.

Zipping is when the chick finally comes out of the shell! They start at the pip and use their egg tooth to tap the shell, breaking it usually in a zig zag pattern going around the egg. They might take some breaks during this, but it usually happens pretty fast. Once they've gone all around the egg's end, they push the top off and come out!

I would leave the egg where it is. Broodies might abandon their nest if it moves.

Hatching is very exciting! I hope yours goes well - please keep us updated! :)

Ok great!!!!

The hens hatching my eggs are new mothers though... do you think they'll know what to do and expect? Is it common for the mother to kill the chick?