1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Help with Lavender Orpington gender

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by csgibbs, Sep 16, 2015.

1. csgibbs

csgibbs Out Of The Brooder

Sep 16, 2015
    Northern California
    Hi everyone. I am very new to chickens other than some silkies I had in the past. I have 3 lavender Orpingtons and am sure one is a roo, but suspect all 3 are. They are approximately 5 weeks old. Should I have any hope at this point?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Sep 16, 2015
  2. Zinniah

Zinniah Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2015
    Texas
    I think they could be girls. Chickens, even the same breed and age can grow wattles/combs at very different rates. I wouldn't be so sure they are roo.

3. csgibbs

Sep 16, 2015
    Northern California
    Thank you. At about what age does it become more obvious?

4. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Runs With Chickens Premium Member

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    Usually females combs remain orange for a couple months, roosters are pink than red. It's early, but I'm pretty sure those are roosters.

5. csgibbs

Sep 16, 2015
    Northern California
    What are the odds of keeping peace if I kept all 3 and they are Roos? I have an order on the way for 15 pullets, but no other chickens at this time. Assuming my pullets turn out to actually all be pullets, would 3 rooster be too many for my small flock?

6. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Runs With Chickens Premium Member

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin