Help with mean Goose :(

Discussion in 'Geese' started by CLUKCLUKGOOSE13, Feb 4, 2013.

1. CLUKCLUKGOOSE13

CLUKCLUKGOOSE13 New Egg

Feb 4, 2013
    Hi all, I am new to geese and chickens but loving it so far. I acquired 3 wonderful hens, an african goose, a gorgeous cat and a sweet bunny when I moved in with my wonderful boyfriend. The problem is....Peepers, our goose, he is 1 yr old and is getting mean. I know that geese can have their mean streaks...learned that when I was a kid. I have been with Peepers for 7 months now and he was always so loveable and also had his solitary moments but now he attacks everyone. We had always allowed him to roam freely during the day and put him up at night so the predators did not get him. Now we have to put him up during the day so that he does not attack anyone, especially our kids when they are getting on and off the bus from school. He gets to roam for a few hours in the evenings now. What is happening? He seems to be very healthy. We do not have any other geese and I was wondering if he is lonely :(. Any advice or thoughts would be appreciated. I would hate for us to have to find him a different home because he can be very entertaining...just now at a distance.
    Thanks

2. Kevin565

Kevin565 Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Dec 22, 2009
    [​IMG]. This is pretty common for breeding season. Even the nicest ganders get cranky when it comes to breeding. Once the hormone surges are gone from breeding season he will probably be calm again.

3. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey