1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Help with Rooster Breed!!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by beckstar, Mar 7, 2012.

1. beckstar

beckstar Out Of The Brooder

Dec 15, 2011
    Delta, BC, Canada
    Name this Rooster! He is a rescue and he is a lovely man! I'm just getting into the chicken thing and I need help identifying his breed, he may even be a mix.

[​IMG]
    Here is "Dart" and a few of his RIR ladies. :)

I don't have a good side view but he has those lovely shimmery emerald green feathers on his sides and some in his tail feathers.
    Here's another pic:
    [​IMG]

And here are the pics of his first 3 babies hatched on March 5th! One yellow and two black with white under their little chins and chest:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Thanks for any help! These are my first babies hatched in my incubator, happy and healthy! These ones are thriving way better than the group of shipped chicks (RIR's) I just picked up last weekend.

2. BlueCamas

BlueCamas Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 25, 2011
    Milwaukie, Oregon
    What color legs does he have? Yellow, pink, or green? What kind of comb does he have? It's kind of hard to tell from that pick.

3. whytedragon

whytedragon Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 27, 2009
    Floresville, Texas
    My guess..Ameraucana...Easter Egger.

4. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    We need a better pic. A nice profile shot including comb and legs.

5. beckstar

Dec 15, 2011
    Delta, BC, Canada
    Thanks guys! I will try to get up some better pics tomorrow!

6. asif

asif Out Of The Brooder

Feb 28, 2012
    I dnt know wt breed u r roster , but i wanna know what breed is these 2 red hens ?

7. beckstar

Dec 15, 2011
    Delta, BC, Canada