Help with rooster management, anyone?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by buckabucka, Jul 9, 2010.

1. buckabucka

buckabucka Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 13, 2010
    Fairfield, Maine
    My Coop
    I'm a newbie with 23 chickens, now 8 weeks old. Six of them are dark Cornish, which we will send to the freezer in the fall (when they are about 22 weeks old).

Right now, there are 4 roosters (3 dark Cornish and an EE). I read in one of my chicken books, that with "heritage birds" (which I believe dark Cornish would qualify) you should separate out the roosters at 10 1/2 weeks. At 8 weeks, the EE rooster is attempting mating, the dark Cornish are crowing but not trying to mate yet. We don't think we want to keep a rooster, so the EE will likely go in the fall also.

This is my current plan: Hang a tarp down the middle of the coop and run, tying the top to the ceiling and weighting the bottom with bricks. We have 2 pop doors and plenty of roost space. I'll put all the bachelors in the smaller half. I have not done this yet, partly because it will be a real pain setting it up and slipping through a tarp to feed and water, and plus, there has been no fighting or major harassment of the hens so far.

My questions:
    1. Should I separate the roosters from the hens now, before they start mating with the flock? I read on here that removing a rooster from his flock may make him get depressed and stop eating.

2. Will a tarp be enough separation? They won't be able to see the hens, but they will definitely hear them. I really don't know where else I could keep them. We have a simple chicken tractor, but it only has chicken wire and no shelter (definitely not predator-proof).

3. It will be necessary to separate them eventually (before 22 weeks), right? I am assuming they will fight each other and harass the hens, but I'm not sure at what age this becomes an issue.

I appreciate any advice, if someone has experience with this type of situation.
    Thanks!