Help with Rooster!

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by mmwinget, Nov 30, 2010.

1. mmwinget

mmwinget Out Of The Brooder

May 18, 2010
    Hi Everyone! I am by no means a chicken pro but I have 4 beauitful chickens whom I love. I live in Charlotte, NC and have them in a large coop. I hatched/raised them in the Spring. Being full grown now, I have discovered that I have 2 roosters. They are beautiful birds yet they are driving one of my poor hens crazy!!

I am to afraid to free range the birds due to so many predators (coyotes) in my area. I am having such a horrible time finding a safe, no-kill home for the roosters. The 2 roosters do actually get along but I feel terrible for my poor hen.

Does anyone have any advice? I am desperate! Also, anyone in the local area that would like 1 or 2 roosters?

Thanks so much!

2. SmartyChick

SmartyChick An Official Milkmaid

Oct 19, 2009
    Sullivan County NY
    Yeah, the rooster/hen ratio is off. I would just get rid of 1. Post him of craigslist. And if you get really desperate you may just need to give it away "no questions asked" if you know what I mean. With two boys they will fight over the hens and cause them to be over bred. But with only one boy he will protect the flock so you can be at peace when it comes to free ranging.
    Hope it works out!

3. Justuschicks

Justuschicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 19, 2010
    Keswick, Virginia
    Have you tried posting to your local Craigslist? There are tons of chickens listed on our local craigslist.

4. mmwinget

May 18, 2010
    I have thought about it, just worried about the new home enviroment. That's a great idea though, I will most likely do that. Thanks so much!

5. mmwinget

May 18, 2010
    Thanks so much. I agree.

6. LilChickCoop

LilChickCoop Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 8, 2010
    Central Florida