Help with ventilation and Run door

markb

In the Brooder
11 Years
May 1, 2008
Saint Louis, MO
I've mostly finished my new coop. It is 3.5' x 4.75'. It is going to house 4 birds, 2 black sex-links and 2 Rhode island reds.

I live in the midwest.

For ventilation I have a 4' Ridge vent from home depot. and were the roof meets the walls are 1" x 54" gap on each side.
Is that good?

And trying to decide were to put the run door. Out the side or through the floor. If i put it through the floor how do i stop a updraft in the winter? Side doors i can hang a plastic cover over.

Run is going to be partly under deck and house and partly out in yard.

Any thoughts? Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
I'm not an expert, by any means! But I'd think you need more ventilation.
I'd also put the door out the side, but that's just because I can't figure out a good way to put it in the floor:/

I think it is a very attractive coop!

If it were me, I'd put a vent along the bottom of the side away from the house. This would allow cooler air to enter in low, creating some circulation to allow the hot air to escape out the top. I'm not sure where you'll put the nesting boxes, so that option may not be available. I'd put the vent about four to six inches above the floor so the litter on the floor doesn't get stirred up or scratched into the vents. Remember, you still want some circulation in the winter, just limit the wind blowing directly on the chooks. A grill over the vent will keep the wind out while allowing air in. Also, I'd put a regular, closing pop door over the door to the run that can be closed at night. That limits predators from wandering into the coop at night. The neighbor's dog is a pet, so long as it stays in your neighbor's yard; in your yard it's a predator. There are many designs for a pop door on this site.

Nice coop and good luck!