Help with WH hatching her first clutch!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by CloversMom, Dec 15, 2016.

1. CloversMom

CloversMom Just Hatched

Dec 15, 2016
    I am new to this forum and being a duck mom and need some help with my girls! I have a sliver welshie and a f/w runner. We lost our drake welshie apx 4 was ago. About that same time our runner started setting on 6 eggs. Since then we still get an egg daily. We candeled several weeks ago and saw veins and movement so let her keep setting. We checked them again 6 days ago and now have 9 viable eggs and had 4 quitters. I am new to this and didn't realize our girls could still lay fertile eggs after no drake interactions... How long will they continue to lay fertile eggs? She started sitting on 6-7 and now I have 9 no idea how to judge their ages! Should I be removing the newly laid eggs? One did pop and they moved it out of their nest and I got in all cleaned up. But I'm afraid that it may have contaminated the other healthy eggs now. We weren't planning to let the girls hatch but after loosing our drake so tragically we thought this was a way of letting his legacy live on. I am trying to read all I can but don't see anything on subsequent fertile eggs being laid on an existing clutch. And we are letting the girls do the work and not incubating so I am afraid of the cold weather affecting the eggs as well. Any suggestions regarding the different egg and ages would be helpful! Also some of the eggs appear to have a gray-ish bruised appearance. Does this mean they are infected with bacteria? Thanks and sorry for such a long post!!:fl

2. Percheron chick

Percheron chick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2013
    Boulder, Colorado