1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

HELP!!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by JuliaWesterbeek, Oct 17, 2016.

1. JuliaWesterbeek

JuliaWesterbeek Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 17, 2016
    Singapore
    [​IMG]

This is my first time owning chickens and when they were just 2 days old I started using newspaper for under their bedding but at around 2 weeks old they started eating the newspaper so I wanted to take away the newspaper and let just keep them on the wire flooring of the cage. I thought this was sort of mean because it didn't look very comfortable so I put these plastic sheets down that they can't break. Unfortunately, they make a huge mess so I need to clean the plastic sheet with my hose and with some soap every day and that takes an hour... Does anyone know a material that I could use instead of plastic sheets, maybe materials that are easier to clean, or is it okay for them to walk on the wire flooring of the cage/coop.

Last edited: Oct 17, 2016
  2. Folly's place

Folly's place Overrun With Chickens

Sep 13, 2011
    southern Michigan
    Welcome! Wire flooring is a very bad idea for chickens of any age; they are not rabbits! You can use shavings, which come baled for horse bedding at feed stores, and add a bit more as they grow and mess in them. That's been the best bedding, IMO. "hospital pads" which are like big disposable diapers, will work pretty well too, especially for a small number of chicks. Cover the wire with a solid surface, and add shavings. Mary

1 person likes this.
  3. JuliaWesterbeek

Oct 17, 2016
    Singapore
    I thought wire flooring wouldn't be good or comfortable for the chickens! Thanks I will look into the "hospital pads"

4. rosemarythyme

rosemarythyme Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 3, 2016
    Pac NW