HELP !!!!!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by kidd42, Mar 3, 2009.

1. kidd42

kidd42 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 1, 2009
    Valley Springs, Ca.
    I think I am losing a new born chick. They are 4 days old hatched late Friday night. Arrived from McMurrey hatchery Sunday morning. Everyone had seem to be doing good until this afternoon when I got home from work.One of the babies is just laying near the heat lamp breathing very heavy, almost looks like she is gasping. I hold her and have been dipping her beak in water. When I put her back down she sort of stumbles back by the heat lamp and then flops down. The other chicks will walk on her and she doesn't move much. Is there anything I can do, or am I losing her?
    We are newbies at this. Please help with any kind of suggestion's.

Thank You,

Kevin

2. TexHen

TexHen Out Of The Brooder

Feb 26, 2009
    Alvord Tx
    I am new to this, but it doesn't sound good. Sorry:(

3. william9792

william9792 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 23, 2008
    graham, nc
    has she got pastatee butt?

4. ginbart

ginbart Overrun With Chickens

Mar 9, 2008
    Bloomsburg, PA
    Maybe you should post this under "emergencies" The only thing I could tell you is to seperate her from the other ones and keep her warm. I'm sure someone will come on here and help. But I would put it under Emergencies.

5. kidd42

Feb 1, 2009
    Valley Springs, Ca.
    I had to put her down.[​IMG] She was getting weaker and couldn't right herself when she flopped onto her back. William 9792; yes she had the pastee butt. I had tried to clean it when I got home with warm water, and even put mineral oil on it to soften it. Right before I dispatched her she had a very runny poo. It was my first put down, it was very hard to do.
    Thanks everyone. Hopefully I did her right.

6. crzychicken

crzychicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 24, 2008