Help!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by dgilm, Sep 29, 2011.

1. dgilm

dgilm Out Of The Brooder

Sep 29, 2011
    Total newbie question here...

So, I've set up my brooder (large rubbermaid clear tub, with heat lamp above, as found on google searches for home built brooders)... The chicks should arrive tomorrow, so I turned on the heater lamp today, to warm everything up, and make sure that I could maintain a consistent temperature, and have the heat lamp adjusted before the chicks arrived. My husband went out to check the temperature (in the garage) and found that the bottom of the rubbermaid was starting to melt. [​IMG] It's not runny, but it's clearly too hot for the plastic tub. What to do? I have chicks arriving tomorrow.... Will moving them into the house (not my favorite idea) allow me to move the heat light further away from the tub and reduce the likelihood that it will melt? The setup is simply a clear plastic tub set on a table with a 250 watt red bulb in a reflector suspended over the top of the tub. The tub is lined with "puppy pads" and the waterer is set in there. I haven't put the feeder in there yet, because I don't want to open the feed bag until the chicks are actually here.

(Is there a chicken running around in circles emoticon??)

DH just asked if we put an inch or two of fine gravel or sand in the bottom and put the "puppy pads" on top of that if that would work?

Open to suggestions!

Last edited: Sep 29, 2011
  2. fiddlebanshee

fiddlebanshee Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 11, 2010
    Frederick, MD
    what temperature registered in the brooder? Plastic surely doesn't melt at 100 degrees? If it's too hot, move the lamp further out or switch to a lower wattage bulb.

3. stoopid

stoopid Chicken Fairy Godmother

Aug 3, 2011
    Long Island, NY