Help!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by VickyH, Jul 27, 2013.

1. VickyH

VickyH New Egg

Jul 27, 2013
    I am a newbie with my Pekins. I have 2 males and 4 females 19 weeks old. All was going well until about 2 weeks ago when both my males started mating with one of my females. Now they chase her around and pull her feather out on her neck. She stays away from them as much as she can. Even when out of the pond, the one male will lower his head and chase her. Is this normal? We feel badly for her, it's like she's lost her "family", as she is only in the group when there is danger or it is getting dark and it is time to go into their house at night. Any ideas? Thanks!!

2. gamebirdsonly

gamebirdsonly Overrun With Chickens

Mar 5, 2007
    UTAH
    Some times a drake or drakes will have a favorite hen and just won't leave them alone. I would either seprate the drakes from the hens or get new drakes. or get rid of that hen.

3. decomposed

decomposed Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 10, 2012
    the female should get used to it over time and hopefully she won't try to run away as much but if the drakes get too aggressive you could fence off a bit of space for her and put her in maybe with another female so she doesn't get too lonely. i have a drake and female that constantly pick on my youngest female and rip her feathers and skin off her back i had to build a fence to separate the yard in half now i got my friendliest drake and the youngest female in one half and the more aggressive drake and female in the other half so they can still see each other but they can't attack the youngest female

4. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England