1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

HELP!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by lincol, Jan 15, 2015.

1. lincol

lincol New Egg

Jan 15, 2015
    I am so nervous today. By evening my chicken eggs will have reached their 21 day mark. It's nerve racking looking into my incubator during lockdown and seeing nothing has happened! This is my first time hatching and I took precaution reading all directions and looking in here for advice. I had candled three eggs before lock down that we're no good. :( I'm afraid all are no good. I've washed my hands before handling the eggs and candled every 5 days. Temperature and humidity gave been just right. Please help. I'd hate to give up on the eggs and they actually be ok. They've not even hatched and I've become attached to them.

2. Outpost JWB

Outpost JWB Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2014
    Ohio
    Did you see movement when you candled them?
    When did you set the eggs......about what time of day or night?
    Do you hear any faint peeping or are any eggs rocking back and forth?

3. BayBay Peepers

BayBay Peepers Overrun With Chickens

Apr 5, 2013
    Wisconsin
    Welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

Give it another 24-48 hours. If nothing happens still then I would try checking them again. If there are no holes or cracks you can try a water test. In warm (not hot) water you can gently place the egg in: if it sinks or completely floats it's no good, but if it bobs around half way there may still be a chance.

I truly hope it works out for you and if it doesn't (as hard as it is)use it as a learning experience and try tweeking things a little. Good luck!

4. Outpost JWB

Outpost JWB Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2014
    Ohio