1. Mr Beaks

Mr Beaks Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 13, 2015
    Valley Springs, Ca.
    Spotted a sick chick w/pasty vent @ local feed. They weren't going to help it but said I could have it. I took it home & gently cleaned vent. It pooped but also passed some red gelatin stuff too. Shecdoes not look good and won't eat/drink. Any help would be greatly appreciated as I am fairly new to chickens.[​IMG]

2. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Probably cocci. When you see blood in shed intestinal lining as I suspect it is, it is too late to do anything about it.The chick is on its way out. I recommend that you keep the chick away from your other birds and cull it. Then thoroughly wash your hands; practice biosecurity.

3. Mr Beaks

Jan 13, 2015
    Valley Springs, Ca.
    Oh, no...not what I wanted to hear. Is there anything at all I could try? Thank you for your reply. It is sincerely appreciated!

4. MrsBrooke

MrsBrooke Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 11, 2014
    Magnolia, Texas
    You *could* give it Corid 9.6%... That's the treatment for Coccidiosis. It's available at Tractor Supply and most fed stores.

Sorry to hear about your sick chick.

If you start the Corid, you will have to take extra care that your chick is getting the hydration it needs, which may mean getting a dropper and manually feeding/watering him. You'll have to follow dosing instructions, but I have no idea what that would be for a baby chick.

x2 what @dawg53 said... Separate that chick IMMEDIATELY and keep it away from the others. Cocci can spread to your chicks and devastate your brood if you don't catch it in time.

Start the Corid as SOON as possible with some vitamins and Sav-A-Chick electrolytes.

You have a big heart for wanting to save the little baby... I hope you help him pull through.

Keep us posted.

MrsB

5. Mr Beaks

Jan 13, 2015
    Valley Springs, Ca.