Helping chick hatch?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by erkieka, Mar 7, 2015.

1. erkieka

erkieka Out Of The Brooder

Apr 18, 2014
    This is my first time hatching chicks and so far everything has gone well except for one egg. I noticed the chick started unzipping the egg at around 8:30. The chick had made a fair amount of progress but after an hour quit. I figured it was just taking a break but it is now almost midnight and the chick hasn't made any more progress. I am able to tell that it is still breathing. Is now the time to step in and help?

2. ochochicas

ochochicas Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 3, 2014
    Washington State
    They can take 24 hours to hatch after the first pip. I don't recommend helping them out at this point unless it pipped on the wrong end of the egg. Just be patient and check again in the morning.

3. erkieka

Apr 18, 2014
    Well it's not just pipped. It's unzipped almost all the way around the egg. Once it quit making progress its hasn't tried any further. From what I've read it sounds like that once they start to unzip it should only be an hour before they're out. I'm wanting to verify if that's true. I know that once the others started the unzipping process it was less than 30 minutes before they were out.

4. Orca5094

Orca5094 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 26, 2014
    Sweden
    It's likely just resting. Hatching typically takes 24 hours from the first external pip. Some zip continuously until they just pop right out, others will zip a little and rest for hours before continuing. There's no rushing the process, they need to be fully ready to hatch before they come out. How is it doing now?

5. erkieka

Apr 18, 2014
    He started moving some and I can see where he's trying to punch through the shell. However, he's not moving around the shell and he's just punching through in one area.

6. Orca5094

Jul 26, 2014
    Sweden