Hen being chased...what to do?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by N. Virginia, Dec 18, 2010.

1. N. Virginia

N. Virginia Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 15, 2010
    Hi All:
    I'm new to chicken raising (at least as an adult; as a child didn't worry much about our chickens - we have several 100!). I have 8 chickens, 1 rooster, and 3 guineys, all around 5 months old. The guineys are the bosses (except for the lead chicken Buff Orpington Buttercup). They are not crowded, not stressed, seem happy, except for Mrs. Fry, who is a brown leghorn. She is constantly chased by the others if she ventures out, so now she has taken to hiding behind a flap of plastic. She won't come out for treats with the others. She isn't missing any feathers, her weight seems OK, and she and sleeps with the others.

In the morning I've started giving the others treats outside, then I shut the door and give Mrs. Fry her treats and let her eat in peace inside. This routine isn't going to work when I don't have time to supervise and open the door up after Ms. Fry eats. So, should I just let her fend for herself? Any other suggestions? If only one or two other chickens were being mean I might eat them, but they all seem to chase Mrs. Fry.

Thanks,
    Virginia

2. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    It's tough. Chickens can be so dang cruel.
    If she's eating well and keeping the weight on and no one is physically hurting her, you may not be able to do anything for her at all. Identify the ringleader if you can and isolate that one, but beyond that I'm afraid it's just up to them to work it out.

Good luck!

3. midget_farms

midget_farms Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2008
    Dunlap Illinois
    its best to just let her work it out.