Hen bullying chicks

Dean126

In the Brooder
Aug 10, 2020
So it is my first time with a broody hen raising chicks. Early on day 3 my hen began rejecting one chick for whatever reason. She would peck, chase him and throw him around, he started bleeding a bit so he hid all day. I started to notice another chick was paling around with this rejected chick, then the hen started rejecting that one as well. At night I went to the coop and noticed the 2 chicks weren't under their mother so I tucked them in hoping tomorrow would be better. The next day same story and the both chicks that were bullied were still getting bullied but getting worse for the origional so I got rid of him. Now the other one has rejoined his brother and sister and all is well again. Any theories as to why this may be? I did not expect this second chick to be accepted again and thought I would end up having to dispatch both, but luckily just the one.

Sonya9

Crowing
6 Years
Feb 7, 2014
Georgia
So it is my first time with a broody hen raising chicks. Early on day 3 my hen began rejecting one chick for whatever reason. She would peck, chase him and throw him around, he started bleeding a bit so he hid all day. I started to notice another chick was paling around with this rejected chick, then the hen started rejecting that one as well. At night I went to the coop and noticed the 2 chicks weren't under their mother so I tucked them in hoping tomorrow would be better. The next day same story and the both chicks that were bullied were still getting bullied but getting worse for the origional so I got rid of him. Now the other one has rejoined his brother and sister and all is well again. Any theories as to why this may be? I did not expect this second chick to be accepted again and thought I would end up having to dispatch both, but luckily just the one.
You are killing chicks because the hen rejected them? Wow. Not sure what to think, this is your first ever post and it is more than a little unusual.