hen crowing

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Cindy2020, Mar 8, 2017.

1. Cindy2020

Cindy2020 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 8, 2017
    Plaistow Nh
    Hi, I am new to this.

I was given 6 hens last October.
    three of them have large combs and waddles and are crowing all the time.
    I am not sure what breeds they are.
    My tenant, who gave them to me, swears they are female.
    Any help would be appreciated.

2. cavemanrich

cavemanrich Overrun With Chickens

Apr 6, 2014
    Melrose Park Illinois
    Your tenant LIED..... [​IMG][​IMG]
    Post some pix and we will try to sort things out for you
    WISHING YOU BEST and ... [​IMG]

3. Cindy2020

Cindy2020 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 8, 2017
    Plaistow Nh
    Thank you for reply....I'll get pics tomorrow

4. Lucyluvchickens

Lucyluvchickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 27, 2017
    Dripping Springs, Texas
    Wow, lol chickens are really hard to sex. You never really know until they start crowing or laying [​IMG]
    Well, I read on the Internet that "apparently" if a rooster is not present in your chickens flock, one of the hens will step up and take place of the rooster and start crowing. I don't know if that's true though Lol

5. cavemanrich

cavemanrich Overrun With Chickens

Apr 6, 2014
    Melrose Park Illinois
    I only keep hens and have been doing it for about 20 years, and have never had a rooster wanna be.. [​IMG]
    They do make a notification sound when they lay an egg.. (not all of them) but it is short duration and nothing near a rooster sound.

6. Lucyluvchickens

Jan 27, 2017
    Dripping Springs, Texas
    I've had roosters, mostly all of my chicken career, so I have never whitnessed this problem. I honestly don't even know lol

7. Teila

Teila Bambrook Bantams Premium Member

G’Day from down under Cindy2020 [​IMG] Welcome!