HEN DIED IN 5 SECONDS!!!!! i watched happen, flopped then gone!!!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by DandDdad, Feb 7, 2015.

1. DandDdad

DandDdad Out Of The Brooder

Sep 6, 2014
    im new to chickens. I have a small flock of 11 (now 10) hens they are 5months old lg breeds. at one point we had 12 and we harvested our rooster and ate him a few weeks ago BUT MAKES ME SAD TO LOSE ONE LIKE THIS AND I CANT EAT HER.

she was under my work bench with a few other hens I heard a small commotion THEN A FEW CAME OUT AND ONE FLOPPED FOR 3 TO 5 SEC.. NOT LONG THEN DEAD AS A DOORKNOB.

neighbors have a dog that sniffs at fence (huskey so doest even bark) they grew up with him there

POSSIBILITIES

A... SCARED AND BONKED HEAD TOO HARD AND OR HEART ATTACK????

B...I DIDNT HAVE THE BEST PLACE FOR HER TO LAY

NONE HAVE laid yet and they just started to make the "egg song"

I HAVE A 3000sq ft back yard that they roam all day.

I was outside making a nice laying box area for them. previous to this I had had a single milk crate with hay incase one laid early (or figured they would lay somewhere in yard.
    I WONDER IF SHE DIED BECAUSE SHE COULDNT LAY??? MY FAULT

C...THEY GET TABLE SCRAPS AND OTHER STUFF POISON BUT THAT WOULDNT BE SUCH A QUICK DEATH I THINK..

I DONT KNOW THANKS FOR READING.

2. Outpost JWB

Outpost JWB Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2014
    Ohio
    What breed is she? I have a friend who raises cross rock. She went out one day to feed and had apparently snuck up on them (not on purpose), but it scared 3 of her hens to death (literally). They get so fat, so quick that their heart is like an obese person. They have heart attacks easily.

3. DandDdad

Sep 6, 2014
    welsummer. one of the fastest growing chix other than broiler crosses.

4. DandDdad

Sep 6, 2014
    she was prob 5.5lbs (just guess) at 5months

5. Outpost JWB

Mar 31, 2014
    Ohio