Hen eating her own egg

mlkeen

In the Brooder
Oct 18, 2016
I am new with chickens and I have a 6 month old hen that lays eggs regularly...except yesterday she layed an egg that was well over double in size and actually attacked it and pecked it immediately until there was nothing left and how I know this is watched her do it...is this normal? She never does this to the normal size eggs..

Welcome to BYC!

Hard to say.....could have been the size threw her for a loop.
Could be a one time thing....I'd just keep an eye on her.
Was the shell thinner than normal?
A curiosity peck can turn an egg into a meal.
Did you just watch her eat it?
If you see that again, take it away asap.

ETA:
Make sure they are getting plenty of protein and calcium.

Last edited:
Welcome to BYC!

Hard to say.....could have been the size threw her for a loop.
Could be a one time thing....I'd just keep an eye on her.
Was the shell thinner than normal?
A curiosity peck can turn an egg into a meal.
Did you just watch her eat it?
If you see that again, take it away asap.

ETA:
Make sure they are getting plenty of protein and calcium.

Hi there! Yes I watched her eat it..we just got a bag of calcium to add to her grain... the egg did look different from the other ones and I have gotten about 3 dozen eggs from her so far and she never did that before..

I'm also new to this forum and so if I mess up replying please forgive me as I try to figure it out lol

What is her regular feed?
Don't mix the oyster shell in with the feed, but keep it in a separate container always available.

I would have grabbed that egg from her to check it out....next time, if there is one.

Are you sure she's never eaten an egg before?
Usually you'll find nothing but a wet spot in the nest bedding or on the ground.
I had a thin shelled layer earlier this fall, had to keep changing out the bedding as it would get broken and eaten......stinky if you don't get it cleaned up.