Hen Egg Laying in yard instead of coop.

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by cluckmuck2010, Sep 15, 2010.

1. cluckmuck2010

cluckmuck2010 New Egg

Aug 23, 2010
    First things first I'm a newbie to this website and to raising chickens. My husband and kids talked me into it -so naturally I'm the one who is really taking care of them for the most part. Well we have 12 hens I believe from my looking around this site that they are ISA Browns. They started laying their eggs about the last couple weeks of August. Have 9 (well now 10) that I know are laying out of the 12. Today when I went to let the chickens out of the coop noticed one take off right away (they usually follow me around in hopes of a treat [​IMG]) upon investigating found she had made her own nest with quite a few eggs deposited already. I don't know that she ever has used the nesting boxes inside the coop or not but I am wondering how I can get her to start using them. I do say she chose a well covered hide way sort of speak -won't be easy for me to get too either, think I will leave that for my 6yr old [​IMG].

We have been using golf balls so far anything else we could try?

2. Dora'smom

Dora'smom Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 14, 2009
    Oregon
    Golf balls have worked well for us, but it's possible that she is just resistant, and laying eggs in the same (other) place every day kind-of reinforced that behavior, if that makes any sense. I would remove the eggs, maybe fill in the depression or nest where she has been laying and see how it goes from there.
    My grandmother would feel each hens' tummy as they were let out in the morning. If she felt an egg there, that hen would be kept in the coop a little longer, to insure that they laid in the coop rather than where it would have been difficult to find. I don't know if that would work for you or not. I suppose you could even band her leg so that you could be certain of which one needed the extra supervision.

3. CarolAnn