Hen is pretty much eating herself... Help!! *PICTURES POST 7*

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by MattalynsBarn, Mar 29, 2011.

1. MattalynsBarn

MattalynsBarn Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 11, 2010
    Connecticut
    I have 8 hens and 1 roo, and one of the hens won't stop plucking herself. What should we do? She's more or less bald at this point, and has a lot of wounds. It's 90% her, about 5% the other hens, and about 5% the roo. Culling is not an option, we love her too much!

Last edited: Mar 30, 2011
  2. terrilhb

terrilhb Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 11, 2010
    Georgia
    Have you checked her for mites? Or is she getting enough calcium or protein. I am not sure. I am not an expert just trying to help. Hope someone with more knowledge comes and answers. Good luck. [​IMG] [​IMG]

3. Chickengal505

Chickengal505 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 4, 2010
    Bolivia N.C
    Well I don't think culling would be at all needed if she is just picking herself. Can you see any mites/ lice? Is she broody? a tad bit more info would be helpfull and a pic as well.

4. chicmom

chicmom Dances with Chickens

Feb 24, 2009
    Strasburg Ohio
    Well, you could put a hen saddle on her, and that might at least help her back area to grow back some feathers.......

I have heard of parrots and different pet birds that plucked themselves naked.....It's sort of like an obsessive compulsion, I would think.

There may be a yucky tasting spray that you could apply to her.....Also, feathers are made up mainly of protein. Perhaps you could give her some extra protein (like in some wet catfood)....Maybe she's somehow got a protein deficiency.....

If you separate her, give her things to keep her occupied, like a flock block so she will have something else to peck at other than herself. She really won't like being separated though.....Chickens really love company.....