Hen laying 2 eggs a day and doesn’t look well

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by KeleFarm, Mar 15, 2019.

1. KeleFarm

KeleFarm Hatching

Mar 15, 2019
    I am new at raising hens and am worried about my favorite hen Peeps. I have raised 4 hens since they where bitties and Peeps was the first to lay eggs. About a month ago she layed severalenormous eggs with 2 yokes. This week she has laid 2 eggs a day 3 times. One is healthy and strong and the other is soft and rubbery. Her eggs are a different color than the rest of the hens. She layed the rubbery eggs in a different place as the normal ones. The first one she layed in the yard right in front of us. She looks very sick right before this happens. I am very worried about her and would like to know if this has happened to anyone else’s hen and any advice on helping her. They eat layer feed and I give them some scratch when I let them out to play. They have fun eating bugs in the yard as well. Please Help!

casportpony likes this.
  2. A_Fowl_Guy

A_Fowl_Guy Wildlife Biologist

Jan 29, 2019
    Newberry, Indiana
  3. casportpony

casportpony Team Tube Feeding Captain & Poop Inspector General

Welcome to BYC!

I have had this happen to a few, and the way I treat it now is to start them on antibiotics, calcium w/vitamin D3, and meloxicam. I will also tube fluids to them. I know it sounds harcore, but I have found that's what works best for my flock.

Is a vet an option? If not, you could try giving some calcium and d3 and see if it helps.

Eggcessive and staceyj like this.
  4. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Crossing the Road

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio