Hen "laying" clear watery (egg white?) or is it diarrhea?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by TheMaineChicken, Nov 24, 2009.

1. TheMaineChicken

TheMaineChicken New Egg

Nov 24, 2009
    Thank God for this forum, because I am new to chickens and unfortunately, have grown really attached to them and feel so worried whenever there is a problem! I have 13 laying hens, about 6 mos. old, so still new to laying - 2 Golden Comets, 3 Silver Laced, 3 Leghorns, 4 Araucanas, one loved "mistake" (supposed to be a Silver, but think they threw in a Golden Laced). Plus 2 guinea "mens" (whoops! no hens) and a ginormous 2 y.o. gentle Brahma rooster named Pogo Stick.
    He is convalescing in a dog pen (hates it!) as he was attacked so badly with scaly leg mites, his feathered feet were swollen and bloody.
    I made a Diatomaceous Earth snowstorm in the pen, and "oiled" the perches, hung up those round bird mite protector discs for caged birds, and treated Pogo with some antibiotic in his H20 (when his legs had open sores) alternating Campho-Phenique and a pet-friendly antibiotic ointment topically.
    It's been almost 2 weeks, but there is slow improvement. He's standing on two feet! Phew. Now (it's always something, isn't it?), although the others show no raised leg scales of mite invasion, I have noticed my Araucana hen has been "laying" copious amounts of a watery substance.