Hen Leaves Chick at Night; Rejoins in Morning

BayBay Peepers

Crowing
6 Years
Apr 5, 2013
Wisconsin
Here's something I never thought would happen. (also this is my first time letting hens raise chicks)

I had two hens go broody and each ended up with one chick. As of now they are 4 weeks. The hens are Pearl and Banana just to make this easier to explain.

Two nights ago Banana left her chick to go in the main coop. The chick went in the pen with Pearl and her chick. The next morning Banana took her chick back with her. Last night same story. But both hens went in the coop. Pearl came back out after a minute and took both chicks with her into their pen. This morning Banana has her chick back.

Is Banana trying to get the chick to start roosting? Maybe Pearl is too, but is just more patient? Or is this the weaning process?

I'm all ears and eyes here :) I don't suspect the chick is in danger or anything, I would just like to know if anyone else has seen something similar or knows a bit more about hen chick relationships.

It could be the hens sharing the chicks. When I had 2 broody chickens sometimes the chicks would switch mommas. But since your chicks are 4 weeks of age you will start to slowly see the mothers leaving the chicks. At 5 or 6 weeks of age the mother will leave them completely when she feels they can take care of themselves. My chicks are 6 weeks and the mother totally left them. So it might be they are sharing or slowly weaning them off.

It could be the hens sharing the chicks. When I had 2 broody chickens sometimes the chicks would switch mommas. But since your chicks are 4 weeks of age you will start to slowly see the mothers leaving the chicks. At 5 or 6 weeks of age the mother will leave them completely when she feels they can take care of themselves. My chicks are 6 weeks and the mother totally left them. So it might be they are sharing or slowly weaning them off.
I agree with the above.
Lucky you to have such nice hens that get along and share