hen making crowing sounds??

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by MommyM, Jun 14, 2008.

1. MommyM

MommyM Out Of The Brooder

Jun 9, 2008
    California
    Hi there everyone! O Wednesday we got a 7 month old Millie Fluer D'uccle, a hen, it has laid two eggs so far. But, yesterday morning I thought I heard a crowing like sound, and I told my husband and he says no, that can't be right. So I thought it was a rooster far away. No. This morning I heard the same thing, louder, and several more times. I think she wanted to be let out of the little house we have her in, she flew out when I opened the door! I didn't know hens will make crowing sounds. (I am very new at chickens, never had them before.)

2. love-my-wolves

love-my-wolves Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 14, 2008
    Front Royal, VA
    Ok, couple of questions. Is she by herself? No other chickens? Are you absolutely sure the eggs came from her? Are you sure she is the one "crowing"? Do you have a pic??

Other than that, I would think she is immitating the sound, but to me, if you think it's a crow, it probably is.

3. MissPrissy

MissPrissy Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

May 7, 2007
    Forks, Virginia
    Yes, hens can crow. If there isn't a flock roo the alpha hen will take over the job, too.

4. MommyM

Jun 9, 2008
    California
    She is all by herself, (will she get lonely?) and the eggs did come from her. I can get a picture of her later today!

5. love-my-wolves

love-my-wolves Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 14, 2008
    Front Royal, VA
    Hmmmm, Miss Prissy, if she gets a roo, will she stop crowing, or keep it up????

6. MissPrissy

MissPrissy Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

May 7, 2007
    Forks, Virginia
    If she is alone you really need to get her one or two chicken friends. Chickens are very social and prefer life in a flock. I would think her crowing is a sign she is telling you she is very unhappy.