Hen on her side, still alive but not standing up!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by kbr42, Aug 15, 2011.

1. kbr42

kbr42 New Egg

Aug 15, 2011
    Hi All,

This is my first post, but have found your site very helpful. I'm new to backyards chickens. In fact, I'm only 3 weeks into it. I have 4 bantams a red frizzle, light brahma, and 2 cochins. With that said, this morning I found my light braham, who is a year old, on her side in the nesting box. It appeared that she had broken her neck. But this afternoon, that doesn't seem to be the case. If I hold her she'll drink water and try and bread dipped in egg. Her output is normal. Nothing different there.

I've completely cleaned my hen house (which is a tracker style) and none of the other girls seem to be sick. I've been adding to their diet with whole wheat bread, some fruits and veggies. No mold on anything. They are eating standard layer mash from the feed store.

I'm not sure at this point what my next step should be? Any help would be great. Thanks in advance.

Kbr42:)

2. chkn

chkn Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 27, 2010
    My first guess is that she may be egg bound. There are lots of good threads here that discuss how to check for this. Is her vent pulsing because that would be a good indicator.

3. kbr42

kbr42 New Egg

Aug 15, 2011
    Yes, her vent is pulsing. Not sure what I should do...any help would be great...thanks

4. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida
    It could be heat exhaustion if it's hot where you live. You'll have to bring her inside into the A/C for the night and keep her hydrated with cool water, not cold water. You can wrap a cool damp towel around her to help draw the heat away from her body.