Hen or incubator

nyrunner

In the Brooder
Sep 21, 2015
I'm a newbie when it comes to incubating eggs I've had chickens for a while just no roosters. Do question I know this is probably dependent on the breed but should I let me hens sit on them or incubate them. I know I'll probably have more success using an incubator but could anyone tell me the pro's and cons of each

There is a whole lot of variation in how you can use a broody hen. Some people isolate them from the flock as they are incubating the eggs, some don’t. Some people isolate the hen and chicks from the flock when she is raising them, some don’t. Some people take the chicks away when they hatch and raise them themselves. Most don’t. I’m not going to get into all that.

In general, a broody hen does a better job of incubating than people do. You are dealing with a living animal so stuff can happen, but normally she will hatch more eggs and do a really good job of raising the chicks.

The big problem with a broody hen is that you have no control over when or even if one will go broody. You can’t make a hen go broody. If one goes broody she does it on her own schedule. Many hens will never go broody. So if you want control over when you hatch chicks you need an incubator.

Whether there is a rooster around or not has no effect on a hen going broody. The only reason you need a rooster is for fertile eggs.

And what kind of incubator is best as far as it turns the eggs and everything that isn't over $120

Ya I know about hens going broody and all that I'm no beginner when it comes to that I have a couple buff orpingtons and they will go broody once in a while which I usually fix quite quickly. But thank you for your help and input I really do appreciate it a bunch.

Howdy nyrunner

I have only had hatches with a broody hen and do not own an incubator so cannot really comment on both sides of the scale but some of my thoughts are: