Hen or Roo...? All Cochins

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Livlif2itsfulest, Oct 6, 2010.

1. Livlif2itsfulest

Livlif2itsfulest Out Of The Brooder

Oct 4, 2010
    Ashland
    Hi there.... I have posted on here before and did not get very many answers but I am hoping this is an easier questions hehe.

I have 4 hens that I got about a month ago... They are about 11-12 weeks old now and well one looks like it is growing up to be a roo. I dont know for sure because I am really new at this chicken stuff. I want to make sure I know because I have 4 small bantams in the coop (same age) with him/her and I would hate for him to crush one of them (as I have heard stories of) while doing his thing. :dizzy: Please let me know what you think and thanks ahead for you opinion!

If he/she is a roo what would you recommend doing if you were in my spot... thanks!

Jess

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. sewandgrow

sewandgrow Sewandgrow

Sep 7, 2010
    Turlock California
    I agree it looks like a rooster ................ I have never raised Cochins though. The others are not developing combs like that one though. I always find someone to give my extras away to. Maybe you can ask the place you got them from.

3. Livlif2itsfulest

Oct 4, 2010
    Ashland
    Aw thanks for the reply... I emailed the farm yesterday to see what he recommends and if I can grab another same age hen from him... ugh uh oh I just want the little ones to be hurt when he starts his duties!

4. pbjmaker

pbjmaker Overrun With Chickens

May 9, 2008
    Central Iowa
    I have a full size maran roo with my little banty serama hen and 3 frizzled banty cochins. He has never hurt any of them.

He does look rooish but not totally, hopefully you have an early blooming pullet.

5. Livlif2itsfulest

Oct 4, 2010
    Ashland