Hen or rooster

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Gerisi61, Apr 9, 2016.

1. Gerisi61

Gerisi61 New Egg

Apr 9, 2016
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Hi, I just have registered to BYC. This is a great site!
    So you see I am very new here:) and ne to raising chickens.
    I have got some fertile eggs from a neighbour. 6 chicks hatched on Feb 18, 2016. they are 7 weeks old now.
    I dont know the breed. I guess they are a mix but I have no idea which. They have all the sAme father.
    Can anybody tell if I have hens or roosters? I made some pics. I also named the chickies. Maybe I will have to rename them :D I would be so happy if I could get some answers from you. THANKS:)[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Lalegid

Lalegid Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 26, 2014
    I'm relatively new to chicken sexing so I may not be spot on here, but the ones with the big ol' red combs indicate roosters. So I'd say it looks like Agathe, Anton, Alfred and Augustin are the boys. Someone with more experience will come along soon I'm sure, and give you a better idea. :)

3. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Lots of Chickens Premium Member

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    Ada and Adelheid are girls, the rest are roosters.

4. Gerisi61

Gerisi61 New Egg

Apr 9, 2016
    New Brunswick, Canada
    thank you very much! :)

5. Gerisi61

Gerisi61 New Egg

Apr 9, 2016
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Thank you very much!

6. Gerisi61

Gerisi61 New Egg

Apr 9, 2016
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Thanks for your answers!
    I was sure about Anton and Alfred being boys. But I was hoping that Augustin and Agathe could be girls too because their wattles are much smaler than the ones of two boys and also the combs are a bit smaller.
    I only can keep 1 rooster. I have 6 older hens and the 2 new ones. so I guess that one rooster is enough.
    any ideas how I can pick the right one to keep? is it the best to keep the calmest one?