Hen Or Rooster?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by hennypennyinmissouri, Jul 1, 2008.

1. hennypennyinmissouri

hennypennyinmissouri Out Of The Brooder

Jun 16, 2008
    Hi I am a newbie. I bought this leghorn 3 weeks ago and I was told she was a hen. Now the last 2 mornings at 5:30 a.m. she has started I think what is crowing. I had heard it before a couple times during the day but thought she may have just been discovering her voice. Now she crooks her neck up in the air when she does it though, and she does it over and over again. I have looked up pictures of both hen and rooster leghorns and I just can't tell. I will be so sad if she is a he. I can't keep roosters, and had told that to the guy I purchased her from, I could not. I am hoping she is trying to be the alpha hen and act like a rooster. But you tell me. Thanks so much!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. mmajw

mmajw Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 31, 2008
    Maine
    Sure looks Roo like to me but I am also not too familiar with this breed.

3. augiedranch

augiedranch Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 14, 2008
    Texas
    imo i think its a hen!

4. pinkfeather

pinkfeather Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 3, 2007
    CT
    Rooster.

5. Pine Grove

Pine Grove Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 18, 2007
    Lakeland, Ga
    Its a rooster, But he is not a Leghorn..White O.E. Game Bantam

6. dangerouschicken

dangerouschicken Will Barter For Coffee

May 6, 2007
    Columbia Gorge, OR
    Pine Grove called it. Very pretty boy!

7. hennypennyinmissouri

Jun 16, 2008
    wow I just found old english game bantam on You Tube...and I think you are exactly right. He even does the neck thing just like they did on you tube. Thanks for all your help.

8. dangerouschicken

dangerouschicken Will Barter For Coffee

May 6, 2007
    Columbia Gorge, OR
    Can you still keep him? [​IMG]

9. Justino

Justino ♪♫ Rockin' Rooster ♪♫

Dec 21, 2007
    KY
    OEGB Roo

10. hennypennyinmissouri

Jun 16, 2008