Hen/Rooster sounds...

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by TubbyChicken, Aug 25, 2008.

1. TubbyChicken

TubbyChicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 30, 2008
    Kentucky
    I just picked up several birds yesterday...two I know for sure are hens. (I have 8) The others are still very young and being that I'm an unexperienced chicken person I had to rely on the breeders and what little I've obtained from reading...

I'll post some pics on another thread but I'm obviously new to chickens and curious about the different noises that pullets and cockerals might make. I'm new to chicken noises in general so all the squaking, peeping and bok-bok-bogoking is new to me!

I have one BLRW that is significantly bigger than the other (I was told they were different ages)...one is still peeping but the larger is soooo loud and squaky and "boks" a lot.

Would a bird that's old enough to make those noises start crowing?

2. Carolyn

Carolyn Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 6, 2008
    I'm no expert but I have raised a flock this year. Roosters vary when they crow and sound different although 2 can sound exactly alike. They make some funny noises in their early attempts to crow. Some Roos don't crow hardly at all if there is a dominate roo around that keeps them subdued. I've seen them start to crow almost immediately when the dominate roo is removed.
    In general roos are the noisest early on. My hens did not start clucking much until closer to time to lay. It was softer and almost like they were talking to one another. My lead roo does something similar when he wants to point out a new treat etc to his flock.
    When hens lay they sing The Egg Song. It is pretty distinctive.