hen that has poop on her tail feathers

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by butterfly lady, Sep 4, 2014.

1. butterfly lady

butterfly lady Out Of The Brooder

Jul 21, 2014
    Im new to this chicken thing and TOTALLY loving it!! I have 4 mixed breed hens that were bought at the same time from the same place. Two of my gals are "older" and only one is laying. The other one, who happens to be the boss hen, has had poop on her tail feathers lately, the last week. All normal looking poop, nothing icky as far as i can tell.....I've read about all the stuff they can have, her behavior is normal. She eats, drinks, scratches the ground for bugs and loves attention....doesn't act sick at all....is she just messy? none of the others seem to be having an issue keeping clean. i scoop their coop at least 2 times a day.....and they free range all morning. another quick question....if 2 hens are aprox the same age, why is only one laying? Thanks for listening!

2. Suzie

Suzie Overrun With Chickens

Jul 9, 2009
    Auvergne
    I would de-worm her and the others of your flock...messy backsides can be as a result of a worm infestation...

3. butterfly lady

Jul 21, 2014
    I've been doing that once a month with a wormer in their water, is there another you would recc? Thanks for the input. I did go right to worms but sort of dismissed it since i had them on some, maybe i need to try something different.

4. cafarmgirl

cafarmgirl Overrun With Chickens

Chickens don't really need to be wormed that often. What did you use to deworm them with? Wazine? If so, it only treats roundworms, there are many other worms chickens can get so I would switch to Valbazen or liquid Safeguard for goats and deworm on a schedule appropriate for your location/climate. Hot/dry = less parasites, a warm wet climate = more. Where I live it's hot and dry but winters are mild. I deworm 2 or 3 times a year.