hen turn to rooster???

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by stephanie1992, Aug 21, 2011.

1. stephanie1992

stephanie1992 Chillin' With My Peeps

can chickens switch sex? i have a rhode island red bantam hen thats 2 yrs old, going through molting, wattles turing red, shes rose comb, tail feathers growing long and now green. So is it possible for a female to switch to a male?? im new to chickens

2. featherful

featherful Out Of The Brooder

Aug 19, 2011
    No. the only animal I know of that can switch sex is a fish or shrimp or something... but, there will always be a dominant chicken so even in the absence of a rooster there will be a dominant hen. If it was a personality problem that would help.. but, I don't know... I hope at least I will bump you up so some one else will tell you why she looks different.

3. Chris09

Chris09 Circle (M) Ranch

Jun 1, 2009
    Ohio
    Quote:Wattles Turning Red, Black/Green and longer tail could be a sign of maturing in a Hen but I will ask this, has she ever laid a egg? If not I would also say that there is a possibility that it was always a Rooster and bay have been a late bloomer.
    Do you have a picture of the bird in question?

Here is a picture of one of my LF RC Red Hens and you can see Black/Green Tail and nice Red Wattles and Comb.
    [​IMG]

Chris

4. gumbii

gumbii Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 7, 2010
    bell gardens, ca
    Quote:there are lots of animals that switch sex... some lizards, almost all frogs, all clownfish, most wrasse fish... the shrimp you're thinking about doesn't change sex, it clones itself... one shrimp can lay eggs and clone itself without a mate...

this doesn't talk about chickens, but it does say that sex change is natural, even in humans... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sex_change#Sex_change_in_animals

a