hen unresponsive

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by kaznav, Feb 22, 2016.

1. kaznav

kaznav New Egg

Feb 22, 2016
    can anyone help please I found my Rhode island red hen on the floor in her run I thought maybe my dog had scared her and she had fallen off her perch but im not sure she isn't standing and has her legs stretched behind her and her wings are splayed she isn't eating or drinking, although she has pooed normally she has been in good health prior to this

2. Bridebeliever

Bridebeliever Chillin' With My Peeps

Oh my, I hate to respond because I'm not experienced enough to help with real emergencies but you posted 45 minutes ago and I don't want you to feel ignored! Sometimes new posts just get buried quickly with chat threads.

I do know that you should bring her in somewhere warmer than the coop (garage or in the house in a bathroom). Offer her water with electrolytes in it and possibly some of her feed wet and warm, kind of made in to a mash.

See if another more experienced member responds...

3. kaznav

kaznav New Egg

Feb 22, 2016
    thankyou she has been inside for 24 hours now but not much improved

4. Bridebeliever

Do you have other hens? Are any of them displaying any symptoms?

5. Bridebeliever

How is your hen?

6. kaznav

kaznav New Egg

Feb 22, 2016
    still the same not eating or drinking eyes seem alert but body unresponsive ..... today she emiting a bad odour im so confused as to what is wrong my other 2 hens are fine

7. chickenchick12

chickenchick12 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 21, 2014
    Hi,