Hen will not stand while eating

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by dunkziy, Feb 21, 2016.

1. dunkziy

dunkziy Out Of The Brooder

Feb 7, 2013
    Here we have a buff orpington. She is one of the larger birds in the flock, she's not mean or overly aggressive to the others but she in the top 3 out of 12. During the winter we noticed her comb went very dark but she was eating and getting about like she always had. Once the snow melted away I was able to notice that she doesn't stand well, at first I thought she was offering up herself to the little rooster we had. I've handled her a number of times on a table to see if I could discover any lumps or pain points on her. Since I'm no expert I've not been able to find any. Her vent is clean, she is eating as much as the other hens, she can run when food is discovered or shared in the yard (they all have the full run of 1/2 acre).

I thought maybe she has an injury but it doesn't seem to be healing if it is, I've noticed her difficulty about 5 weeks ago and it seems to be getting worse. I videoed her sharing the morning treats so show her typical stance and awkward movements . The other hens don't bother her and she is able to get to roost branches at night in the coop.

Any ideas after watching the video?

[​IMG]

2. Chicken Egg 17

Chicken Egg 17 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 11, 2015
    McVeytown PA
    Could u get a pic of the bottom of her feet have u felt her legs to feel for any broken bones in her legs could u take her to a vet she may have popped her leg out of joint how high is ur roost of the ground of the coop

3. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio