Hen with diarrhea, shriveled comb

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by KatInAz, Jan 5, 2015.

1. KatInAz

KatInAz New Egg

Jan 5, 2015
    Hi there. I am relatively new to chicken keeping. I have an Easter Egger hen who has been sick for at least a week. I do not know her age but she has not laid eggs in several months. When I noticed the poop stuck to her vent and feathers I isolated her in a warm dry room in a crate. She's been in there for one week. I've been bathing her in warm water with epsom salt every day and trimmed her feathers around her vent. The poop is not sticking very much anymore but her poop is now almost completely liquid. (green and white) I went to the feed store and purchased tetracycline which i have been putting in her water every day. I've also given her greek yogurt, peas, layer crumble and some solidified coconut oil with feed. She's eating pretty well but rarely finishes what I put out for her. She doesn't seem to be as puffed up and lethargic but her comb is still shriveled and whitish and of course, still has diarrhea. What else should I do for her? My other two hens and rooster are perfectly fine.

2. RulingTheRoost

RulingTheRoost Out Of The Brooder

Jan 5, 2015
    I'm sad to say your darling might be passing away soon. It sounds like your hen has a case of being egg-bound, meaning an egg is stuck in the chickens bum. It is very painful for the hen, and usually if it is not caught in the early stages it could be fatal. If you think you might be able to still help her, try soaking her rear end in a bucket of very warm water, massaging it. Gently try to push the egg out by massaging it if you feel a lump near the end. If that doesn't work, try reaching in (believe me, this will feel very strange) with two fingers and some lubricant to moisten them. If you feel an egg, do your best to pull it toward you and out of her.