Hen with ongoing runny nose but no sneezing

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by KellyC, Jul 30, 2013.

1. KellyC

KellyC New Egg

Jul 30, 2013
    I am pretty new to raising chickens. I had two 4-month olds that I raised from chicks, and I got 3 new pullets (about 5-6 mos old) about a month ago. We quarantined them at first, during which time we treated them with Sevin Dust and DE for mites/lice (not sure which they were, but I found a few bugs on them), and then Wazine as a preventative measure. We recently began integrating them with the other two chickens, but I recently noticed that one of the new girls has a mildly runny nose (slimy sticky and clear). Thinking back, I think she's always getting pine shavings and dirt stuck to her beak, so she's probably had it the whole time, but she's the only one. I very rarely see any of them sneeze (I think I've only seen a chicken sneeze two or three times ever), and I'm not sure that I've ever seen HER in particular sneeze.

Is she sick, or is this more likely allergies or irritation (to the desert dust or the DE in the bedding)? If she had a respiratory disease, wouldn't she be sneezing by now? She seems to be acting just fine, and her poop and coloring looks normal as far as I can tell. She only recently started laying eggs, so I don't know her pattern very well yet, but she did miss two days (resumed this morning). I think this may be due to stress since I've quarantined her again by herself for the last couple of days due to the runny nose.

Thanks for your help

2. chooks4life

chooks4life Overrun With Chickens

Apr 8, 2013
    Australia
    Quote: ;) Hen or egg question: do you see dirt stuck to her beak because she gets into dirt and it makes her nose run, or do you see dirt stuck to her beak because her nose is runny already, before she gets into the dirt...?