hen with torn comb and broken beak

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by chknchk84, Aug 5, 2013.

1. chknchk84

chknchk84 New Egg

Aug 5, 2013
    Hi All!

I'm a newbie chicken keeper - this is our first flock. We have 5 pullets that are about 5 months old. No eggs yet, but we're patiently (kinda) waiting. We haven't noticed any aggressive behavior within the flock, but today I saw that Wilma, our silver laced wyandotte, has a tear at the back of her comb and the tip of her top beak is broken to the quick. She seems completely fine otherwise - eating and drinking. Her poop seems normal, and she still seems perky. I cleaned the comb with soap and water and put some neosporin on it. I'm wondering if I should be doing something more....

We keep them in a completely fenced in run with sand, so predators are not an issue. When we get home from work, we let them out into a fenced off section of the yard to free range - which is when I noticed her injuries. They were not there yesterday. I'm not sure if it was caused by another hen or if she flew or ran into something. I didn't see any blood around the run, but I don't know how another hen would have caused the injury to her beak.

Here are a couple photos, and thank you in advance for your help/advice!![​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    I'm not sure what happened to her. But, it doesn't seem too serious, though that broken beak is a little concerning. Is she still eating well? Sometimes, a broken beak can be so painful that a chicken won't eat. You did the right thing putting neosporin on her comb. The comb should heal just fine; my birds have had many worse injuries, and have always recovered fully from then.

3. chknchk84

chknchk84 New Egg

Aug 5, 2013